The Festival in History

On November 9, 2006, the Dominican President at the time, Dr. Leonel Fernández, inaugurated the first edition of what would become, years later, the most important film event in the Caribbean. At that moment, he announced that it was his will to make the Dominican Republic the new mecca of Latin American cinema. And that, in order to achieve that, he would count with the platform of the festival. With its creation and development, the conscience would be promoted, the vision of the world would be expanded and the creative spirit would be encouraged.
The Dominican Global Film Festival (FCGD) began in the most important theater in the country, the National Theater Eduardo Brito, with an elegant opening attended by important figures in film and entertainment, including Andy Garcia, Zoe Saldaña and Emilio Estefan. This first edition featured an exhibition of twenty-four films, and, among them, only one feature film of Dominican origin.
Also during the most recent edition of the Dominican Global Film Festival, eight Dominican productions were officially selected as part of the exhibition of the event—and perhaps for that reason—along with 25 workshops and professional panels that were carried out, the participation of the public increased exponentially: more than 14 thousand people attended the activities of the FCGD.

FCGD: First Caribbean festival accredited by FIAPF

In May 2017 the FCGD received accreditation from the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF, for its acronym in French), as “COMPETITIVE FEATURE FILM FESTIVAL” specializing in First Movies, in the hands of its director general Benoit Ginisty and by Adrien Majourel, festival manager of the international organization.

The decision was taken unanimously during the General Assembly of the FIAPF in Cannes, including the FCGD among the 47 festivals members of the organization. The accreditation process concluded by saying that the festival meets all the standards and criteria defined by the community of film producers associations around the world, and recognizes the work that the Festival team has done to create a quality film event.

The FIAPF, based in BERN, Switzerland and founded in 1933, brings together 38 associations of film producers from 31 countries and aims to defend the creative, legal and regulatory interests of the Cinematographic Production sector throughout the world. Moreover, it has an active role in film festivals around the world, as a regulator of international film festivals.

In his speech, President Fernandez assured that the festival would give an extrodinary momentum to the “irreversible” march that, according to him, the Dominican Republic had undertaken towards “international recognition”. And that one of the objectives of his administration is to create the conditions that allowed the development of cinema in the country. Six years later, the seventh Dominican Global Film Festival hosted 95 film productions; it had its inauguration with the premiere of a Dominican short film and a Dominican feature film: “A Tiro Limpio”, by the young Jean Guerra and “Biodegradable”, by the experienced director Juan Basanta.

The film law, promoted by a group of Dominican filmmakers was approved in November 2010 and with it an important group of productions have found the financial possibility of reaching a successful conclusion. A mission that today, thousands of Dominicans are thankful for. Dominicans who, according to the Dominican film director Alfonso Rodríguez, support local films in a way that happens in only a few countries, crowding the rooms as soon as a Creole film is presented.

The festival has been a sum of wills and efforts to achieve greater exposure for the Dominican Republic in the international film industry. At the same time, it’s at the festival that the Dominican producers, directors, and actors come together with filmmakers of other latitudes and interact synergistically to develop projects in the country, supported by the Film Law.

Among the personalities who have visited the FCGD are Andy García, Lola Dueñas, Guillermo Navarro, Israel Cárdenas, Laura Amelia Guzmán, Zoé Saldaña, Ishtar Yasin, Tom Lutz, Mark Haskell, Dania Ramírez, John Singleton, Brett Ratner, Juan Fernández, Omar Sharif, Manny Pérez, Barbara Boyle, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Shalim Ortíz, Denise Quiñones, William Fay, Elliot Rosenblat, Frank Perozo, Michael Madsen, Victoria Abril, Liza Minnelli, Claudia Cardinale, Benicio Del Toro, Jimmy Jean-Louis, Loles León, José Antonio Escrivá, Patricio Castilla, Cindy Cowan, Luis José López, Jessy Terrero, Ciro Cappellari, Antonio Saura, Steven Bauer, Sharlene Taule, Fernando Carrillo, Manolo Cardona, Danny Glover, Geraldine Chaplin, Sophie Rois, Roko Belic, Enrique González Macho, Jacques Roc, Solly Duran, Iván Sánchez, Emiliano Otegui, Ivana Chubbuck, Manuel Pérez Estremera, James Belzer, Cooky Ziesche, Sarodj Bertin, Rubén Cortada, Tony Isbert, Juan Pablo Llano, Sonya Smith, Manolo Travieso, Ramsés Jiménez, Marta González, Mauricio Henao, Arap Bethke, Mario Cimarro, Sandra Condito, Edward James Olmos, Philip Bloom, Gina Rodríguez, Adriana Barraza, Amelia Vega, Aurora Papile, Bruno Chatelin, Carlos Bardem, Catherine Murphy, Esai Morales, Félix Sánchez, Gabriela Spanic, Guillermo De La Corte, Gustavos Pazmin, Hemky Madera, Hernán Goldfrid, Irving Vincent, Ivan De Paz, John Tintori, Juan Carlos Arciniegas, Juan Marichal, Liche Ariza, Liz Gallardo, Lucas Till, Rafa Lara, Sandra Teres, Thomas Crowell, Tony Dandrades y Ulysses Terrero.

Start typing and press Enter to search